

Welcome to the 34th Annual Excellence in Teaching Awards Ceremony!

On behalf of the Irvine Unified School District and the Irvine Teachers Association, we would like to congratulate all of our amazing winners this evening. Not only have you risen to the challenge of working at a school during a pandemic, your peers chose you to represent them as the best of the best.

As we have immensely learned and lived during these past couple of years, being in the education world is not a solo profession. In order to teach and nurture students, we must rely on those around us. So, congratulations to all the families, colleagues, and staff that have supported and collaborated with the winners tonight.

Tonight, we are celebrating two years of amazing people!

Our future leaders of the education world are seen in our Teachers of Promise ~ Makensie Bates, Karly Cassese, Donbi Chung, and Zadie Kenney for 2022 and Danielle Cross, Miguel Chicas, Si Young Mah, and Luna Bai for 2020.

Our District Teachers of the Year  $^{\sim}$  Ben Case, Marisa Hansink, and Tim Leavey for 2022 and Kelly Montplaisir, Courtney Belzano, and Mickey Dickson for 2020  $^{\sim}$  are the leaders of today with their commitment and creativity to meet all their students' needs.

Thank you to everyone for honoring and supporting the Irvine teachers who make Irvine great.

Sonia Kearney

President, Irvine Teachers Association

### Irvine Teachers Association Officers

Sonia Kearney, President / Jessica Bracken, Vice President
Kim Howell, Secretary / Daniella Gorman, Treasurer

#### Reception

#### Teacher Welcome

Sonia Kearney, President, Irvine Teachers Association

#### **Opening Remarks**

Jerry Mandel, President, The Irvine Barclay Theatre

Pledge of Allegiance

#### Introduction of Honored Guests

Terry Walker, Superintendent, Irvine Unified School District Ira Glasky, President, IUSD Board of Education

#### Teachers of Promise and Video Presentation

Eamonn O'Donovan, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources Sonia Kearney, President, Irvine Teachers Association Daniella Gorman, Treasurer, Irvine Teachers Association

#### Introduction of Site Award Recipients

Sonia Kearney, President, Irvine Teachers Association

Daniella Gorman, Treasurer, Irvine Teachers Association

### Introduction of IUSD Teachers of the Year and Video Presentation

Sonia Kearney, President, Irvine Teachers Association

Daniella Gorman, Treasurer, Irvine Teachers Association

#### **Closing Comments**

# 2020 TEACHERS OF PROMISE



Miguel Chicas Jr.

Visual and Performing Arts



Si Young Mah

Plaza Vista Middle School



**Danielle Cross** 

Eastwood Elementary School



Luna Bai

Irvine High School

## **2020 ELEMENTARY** Teacher of the Year



**Kelly Montplaisir** 

University Park Elementary

# **2020 MIDDLE SCHOOL** Teacher of the Year



**Courtney Belzano** 

South Lake Middle School

## **2020 HIGH SCHOOL** Teacher of the Year



**Mickey Dickson** 

Northwood High School

Name	School Site
Candice Greenwood	Alderwood Elementary
Rachel Garcia	Beacon Park K-8
Julie Dent	Bonita Canyon Elementary
Tyng Wang	Brywood Elementary
Kristi Yellott	Cadence Park K-8
Kristal York	College Park Elementary
Kayla Zimmerman	Creekside
Andrea Lee	Culverdale Elementary
Courtney Hinshaw	Cypress Village Elementary
Kristine Clark	Deerfield Elementary
Kim Cashin	Distrtict Office
Hannah Nanson	Early Childhood Learning Center
Andrea Alexander	Eastshore Elementary
Jon Nakano	Eastwood Elementary
Laura Schultz	Elementary Fine Arts
Ali Garza	Elementary Science
Teri Crain-Pearce	Greentree Elementary
Krista Elliott	Health Services
Rachael Forman	Irvine High School
Rebeccah Phillips	Irvine High School
Corri Allen	Jeffrey Trail Middle School
Sabrina Villalobos	Lakeside Middle School
Danielle Duenas	Legacy Education Center
Kathryn Skeber	Loma Ridge Elementary
Kathryn Johnston	Meadow Park Elementary

Name	School Site
Melissa Halsell	Northwood Elementary
Brooke Leys-Campeau	Northwood High School
Sierra Wang	Northwood High School
Krysta Golden	Oak Creek Elementary
Hope Benzie	Plaza Vista K-8
Desiree De Santos-Shaffer	Portola High School
Heidi Martasian	Portola High School
Katie Aguilar	Portola Springs Elementary
Brendan McBrien	Rancho Middle School
Bethany Eden	Santiago Hills Elementary
Trevor Johnson	Sierra Vista Middle School
Tony Lin	South Lake Middle School
Bronwyn Hewitt	Springbrook Elementary
Mina Park	Stone Creek Elementary
Jessica Oftebro	Stonegate Elementary
Nicole Vasco	Turtle Rock Elementary
Karen Hsieh	University High School
Valerie Thompson	University High School
Zynab Hammoud	University Park Elementary
Harry Meussner	Venado Middle School
Doug Tuttle	Vista Verde K-8
Megan Cruz	Westpark Elementary
Rob Blaney	Woodbridge High School
Dan Kozak	Woodbridge High School
Amanda Hassine	Woodbury Elementary

# 2022 TEACHERS OF PROMISE



riakelisie bates

Loma Ridge Elem.



**Karly Cassese** 

Beacon Park K-8



**Zadie Kenney** 

Portola Springs Elem.



**Donbi Chung** 

Creekside High

## **2022 ELEMENTARY** Teacher of the Year



**Marisa Hansink** 

College Park Elementary School

# **2022 MIDDLE SCHOOL** Teacher of the Year



Tim Leavey

South Lake Middle School

# **2022 HIGH SCHOOL** Teacher of the Year



Northwood High School

Name	School Site
Jill Gavin	Alderwood Elementary
Maureen Leong	Beacon Park K-8
Nicole Stotts	Bonita Canyon Elementary
Kelly Young	Brywood Elementary
Luixsana Gonzalez	Cadence Park K-8
Katiana Harvey	Canyon View Elementary
Marisa Hansink	College Park Elementary
Bonnie Brunner	Creekside
Debra Martin	Culverdale Elementary
Mary Olson	Cypress Village Elementary
Sue Nenadov	Deerfield Elementary
Rebecca Wei Nakagawa	Distrtict Office
Nicole Summers	Early Childhood Learning Center
Anastasia Ebbert	Eastshore Elementary
Laura Padilla	Eastwood Elementary
Hayley Thomas	Elem Science
Monica Whang	Elementary Fine Arts
Michelle Dang	Greentree Elementary
Diana Nguyen	Health Services
Jennifer Kraushaar	Irvine High School
John Valerie	Irvine High School
Shellie Bittner	Irvine Virtual Academy
Vanessa Byrne	Jeffrey Trail Middle School
Brandie Hayungs	Lakeside Middle School
Shaun Beutner	Legacy Education Center
Meghan Lake	Loma Ridge Elementary

Name	School Site
Stephanie Herdrich	Meadow Park Elementary
Corey McCauley	Northwood Elementary
Isabelle Comtois	Northwood High School
Allison Singer	Northwood High School
Pamela Vitarelli	Oak Creek Elementary
Ally Carr	Plaza Vista K-8
Jon Resendez	Portola High School
Natasha Schottland	Portola High School
Jill Garmon	Portola Springs Elementary
Pam Lockliear	Rancho Middle School
Jami Kovac	Santiago Hills Elementary
Brian Antonopoulos	Sierra Vista Middle School
Kami Plick	South Lake Middle School
Ms. Angela Suh	Springbrook Elementary
Lindsay Williams	Stone Creek Elementary
Kimberly Clarkson	Stonegate Elementary
Amy Siebert	Turtle Rock Elementary
Chris Esposito	University High School
Jane Koch	University High School
Kelly Vu	University Park Elementary
Molly Siple	Venado Middle School
Lisa L. Schultz	Vista Verde K-8
Nahal Wilson	Westpark Elementary
Donald (Will) Buckley	Woodbridge High School
Angela Lillian Bushamie	Woodbridge High School
Erica Dyer	Woodbury Elementary

#### **Previous Teachers of the Year**

2018-19

Jo-Ann Agapito Welche Christina Regalado Masciel Linzi Gorzycki

2017-18

Emily Bucago Nelly Tsai Archana Jain

2016-17

Mary Thomas-Vallens Lauren Marie Morrison Christina Banagas-Engelerdt

2015-16

Stacie Grooters Henry Miller Steve Sewell

2014-15

Paula Venable Susana Sarmiento Christine Haley

2013-14

Allie Nixon Karen Feng Zach Halop 2012-13

Scott Bedley Brendan McBrien Joseph Huber

2011-12

Shelley Naramore Lori Fallace Mike Gerakos

2010-11

Donnie Mai Greg Campbell David C. Knight

2009-10

Connie Fritsch Krishno Linville Jeanne Jelnick

2008-09

Kathleen Sulack Kathy Marvin Cindy Peronto

2007-08

Beth Will Higgins Lynn Kaminsky Joan Malkin





